PDA

View Full Version : My First Team - OU

v1rus
23rd July 2011, 12:32 AM
Hello all, this is the first team I have put together, with competitive battling in mind. To be completely honest, when I first went about this, I was completely lost. I have been playing these games since 1998, and now at the young age of 24, I have finally decided to go about it competitively. After doing a LOT of reading, and switching things around, I have a team layout that I REALLY like, and one I feel has some good coverage.

A few things before I list my team. The first thing I kept in mind was using Pokemon I like. I know this is not necessarily the thing to do when going competitive, but for the most part, I think I was able to stay true to it. Second thing is, I wanted a fairly balanced team. As far as balance is concerned, I think I hit the mark on that one. I wanted a mix of some hard-hitting pokes, some good defenses, and noticeable residual damage. Anyway, here we go...

;248;Tyranitar (M):
4 HP / 252 Attack / 252 Speed
Nature: Jolly
Ability: Sand Stream
Item: Life Orb
-Dragon Dance
-Stone Edge
-Crunch
-Earthquake
This guy isn't necessarily the star of my team, but he was the one I wanted on it regardless. I got my first Tyranitar back in 2001, when I was playing Silver. Ever since then, I have had a Tyranitar on my teams. I lead with him to get Sand Storm going, what happens after that, is dependent on my opponent.

;392;Infernape (F):
252 Sp. Attack / 4 Sp. Defense / 252 Speed
Nature: Naive
Ability: Blaze
Item: Life Orb
-Nasty Plot
-Fire Blast
-Close Combat
-Grass Knot
Infernape, another one I really wanted on my team. Infernape is my main sweeper. I have him with a Nasty Plot setup, but with Close Combat to deal with special walls. For the most part, he is a complete compliment to my Tyranitar, handling what he can't.

;121;Starmie:
252 HP / 4 Sp. Defense / 252 Speed
Nature: Timid
Ability: Natural Cure
Item: Leftovers
-Rapid Spin
-Surf
-Thunderbolt
-Recover