PDA

View Full Version : Mostly OU Competitive Team

IceMage88
14th February 2012, 6:08 AM
Hello, I am new to competitive battling and have decided to get into it not too long ago. After spending a lengthy period of time obtaining enough BP to get all of the power items and necessary held items for my team, here I am. Please be aware this is a mostly OU team, and I already know Zoroark is not OU.

Another thing to be aware of is that while it is strongly suggested, I have not yet played this team as I prefer not to use programs like Shoddy Battler and do not want to spend hours building the team in-game only to have more experienced competitive battlers point out simple tips that could have saved me hours. Now, on to my team:

http://www.poke-amph.com/heartgoldsoulsilver/sprites/385.png
Jirachi@Choice Scarf
Ability: Serene Grace
EVs: 252 Atk, 252 Spe, 4 Def
Nature: Jolly (Spe+, SpA-)
-Iron Head
-Fire Punch
-Ice Punch
-Trick
This Jirachi is now designed as an anti-lead. It has been switched from special to physical to utilise the combination of iron head and serene grace. It now has ice and fire punch to provide good type coverage for my team. It now has trick as suggested. Meant to outspeed enemy lead disrupt opening strategies.

http://pokemon.marriland.com/images/bw/sprites/front/norm/598_ferrothorn_front_norm.png
Ferrothorn@Rocky Helmet
Ability: Iron Barbs
EVs: 252 Hp, 168 Def, 88 SpD
Nature: Sassy( SpD+, Spe-)
-Power Whip
-Gyro Ball
-Leech Seed
-Stealth Rock

Ferrothorn is my physical Wall. He and Jellicent form the defensive core of my team, giving great type coverage. Power Whip and gyro ball are used to attack, low speed is used to maximize gyro ball power. Leech seed is chosen
for survivability since leftovers were not taken. Stealth rocks are my entry hazard of choice, I will not be able to breed spikes onto my ferrothorn. Rocky Helmet in conjunction with Iron Barbs punishes physical fighters that are swapped into.