PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to competitive. RMT and give feedback.

NotSoThermatic
27th March 2012, 9:07 PM
Hello guys. Just joined this forum, never have joined one before. Would really appreciate it if you were to rate my competitive team and give me some feedback and criticism. I'm new to competitive play and would love some help on how to go about raising a good team, this is my team thus far. Also any good 5th Gen Pokemon I should know about that might go well with my team as I'm getting Pokemon Black soon.
First off i'm torn between my two leads.

http://www.pokemonomega.com/images/pkmn_small/227.gif
Skarmory @ Wacan Berry
Sturdy
Careful + SpDef - SpAtk
252 HP / 156 SpDef / 100 Def
. Roost
. Brave Bird
. Roar
. Stealth Rock
Skarmory is a solid lead, boasting massive defensive stats and a good typing with lots of resistances. Using a combo of Stealth Rock and Roar I intend to break down the foe's team and heal off any damage I may receive using Roost. Brave Bird provides an attacking option, if the occasion arises. I'm confident with it's movepool but am always open to suggestions.

http://www.pokemonomega.com/images/pkmn_small/291.gif
Ninjask @ Focus Sash
Speed Boost
Adamant + Atk - SpAtk
252 HP / 128 Atk / 64 Def / 64 SpDef
. Baton Pass
. Swords Dance
. Protect
. X Scissor
Ninjask is my second lead and a predictable Baton Passer, nevertheless a good one. I start out with a Swords Dance and gain my first speed boost, then Protect for an added speed boost. Focus Sash will allow me to survive any hit, and if their move isn't an attacking one I'll proceed to do another Swords Dance. Finally I Baton Pass to my next Pokemon (namely Gyarados because of his sweeping potential). He may be frail but can be be incredibly useful in creating an almost unstoppable bulldozer that is Gyarados. X Scissor is a good move and, with STAB, can provide an attacking side to Ninjask if and when it is needed.

http://www.pokemonomega.com/images/pkmn_small/130.gif