PDA

View Full Version : Great Story Idea

dunceman55%
20th May 2012, 6:31 PM
I am a terrible writer, but I have a good story idea if anyone else wants to write it. It would be a story about a double battle tournament and each pair would consist of one boy and one girl, not all of them have to be shipped. It would be about the battles and what happens during everybody's free time, etc. There could be ContestShipping, GracefulShipping, etc. I feel like this story could be taken in a lot of different directions, lots of opportunities for ships, and lots of battles. I drew up a sample tournament consisting of my favorite ships that I've seen on fanfiction.net, but obviously whoever writes it is free to adjust them.

http://challonge.com/pairs

JX Valentine
20th May 2012, 8:35 PM
I don't know. There's not really a story here. I mean, okay, it's a tournament. What's the prize? What are the risks? Why is this tournament unique? (Double battles don't necessarily make the tournament itself unique.) What kind of incentive is there for each character to participate (especially given that some of the ones you've suggested are Elite Four members)?

And even then, just having a tournament and showing what each character does in the background (a la reality show) doesn't necessarily make for an interesting fic. There's just not that much plot there. What's the main conflict, for example? (But this question can largely be answered by the other ones I've mentioned.)