PDA

View Full Version : Gods



EfrainBarco
18th November 2005, 6:26 AM
Does anyone own the gods and why are they illigol?

~RaikouRider243~
18th November 2005, 1:43 PM
Gods are illegal because on the most recent printing, it says in the lower left corner, "This card cannot be used in a Duel." Anyway, if I were to play the gods, here is how I would play them...in a way that they aren't uber broken.

Slifer the Sky Dragon
DIVINE
**********
Divine-Beast/Effect
A Tribute Summon of this card can only be conducted by offering 3 monsters on your side of the field as Tributes. The ATK and DEF of this card becomes the number of cards in your hand x 1000. When this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. While this card is face-up on the field, it cannot be targeted by Spell cards, Trap cards, or effects of Effect monster cards that designate a target. When your opponent successfully Normal Summons or Flip Summons a monster with 2000 DEF or less, destroy that monster with this card's effect.
ATK/? DEF/?

GENERAL RULINGS ABOUT GODS:

If you decide to Tribute Set instead of Summon a god, you still have to Tribute 3 monsters on your side of the field.

Gods can still be destroyed by cards such as "Dark Hole", "Cyber Jar", etc. because they do not target. "Bottomless Trap Hole" can destroy it upon Summoning (assuming its ATK is 1500 or more) because it does not target.

You cannot activate "Divine Wrath" against any god's Tribute Summoning, because the text that requires three Tributes is a condition written into the card, not an effect.

If a god is Special Summoned in any way (not necessarily from the Graveyard), it is still sent to the Graveyard at the End Phase. For instance, if you somehow lower a god's level to 7, then use the effect of "Tribute Doll" to summon it, it will still be destroyed during the End Phase.

If a god is Special Summoned, but its effect is negated by a card such as "Skill Drain" at any time up to and including the End Phase, it is not destroyed, not even on the following End Phase, or any End Phase after that. It is not destroyed even if "Skill Drain" is removed from the field after the End Phase of the turn it was Special Summoned in.

DIVINE is not a legal declaration for "DNA Transplant", nor is Divine-Beast a legal declaration for "DNA Surgery".

You cannot declare "The Winged Dragon of Ra" or "Slifer the Sky Dragon" as targets for the effect of "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest", since "?" is undefined.

CARD-SPECIFIC RULINGS:
"Slifer the Sky Dragon" cannot destroy Special Summoned monsters with his effect. This effect is an Ignition Effect and can be chained to. "Divine Wrath" can be activated against it.

If "Skill Drain" is on the field, the ATK and DEF of "Slifer the Sky Dragon" will be zero.

Obelisk the Tormentor
DIVINE
**********
Divine-Beast/Effect
A Tribute Summon of this card can only be conducted by offering 3 monsters on your side of the field as Tributes. When this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. While this card is face-up on the field, it cannot be targeted by Spell cards, Trap cards, or effects of Effect monster cards that designate a target. Tribute 2 monsters on your side of the field to destroy all monsters on your opponent's side of the field.
ATK/4000 DEF/4000

Tributing 2 monsters for the effect of "Obelisk the Tormentor" is a cost.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" against the last effect of "Obelisk the Tormentor".

You can activate "My Body as a Shield" against the last effect of "Obelisk the Tormentor" to negate the effect, but "Obelisk the Tormentor" will not be destroyed.

The Winged Dragon of Ra
DIVINE
**********
Divine-Beast/Effect
A Tribute Summon of this card can only be conducted by offering 3 monsters on your side of the field as Tributes. The original ATK and DEF of this card become the sum of the ATKs and DEFs, respectively, of the Tributed monsters. When this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. While this card is face-up on the field, it cannot be targeted by Spell cards, Trap cards, or effects of Effect monster cards that designate a target. When this card is successfully Special Summoned, you may activate one of the following effects:
-Pay 1000 Life Points to destroy and remove from play 1 monster on the field.
-Pay Life Points so that your Life Points become 1, and increase this card's ATK and DEF by the amount paid.
ATK/? DEF/?

If you Tribute Set "The Winged Dragon of Ra", its ATK and DEF are still the combined ATKs and DEFs of the Tributed monsters.

If "The Winged Dragon of Ra" is flipped face-down (such as with "Swords of Concealing Light"), its ATK and DEF will become zero. If it is flipped face-up later, its ATK and DEF will still be zero.

If "The Winged Dragon of Ra" is Special Summoned, its ATK and DEF are zero.

The effect that determines "The Winged Dragon of Ra"'s original ATK and DEF is a Continuous Effect and cannot be chained to.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" against the Special Summoning of "The Winged Dragon of Ra" only if your opponent chooses to activate one of "The Winged Dragon of Ra"'s effects.

If your opponent Special Summons "The Winged Dragon of Ra" and uses its effect to destroy and remove from play 1 monster on the field, you can chain "My Body as a Shield" to negate the effect, but "The Winged Dragon of Ra" will not be destroyed.

If "Skill Drain" is activated while "The Winged Dragon of Ra" is on the field, its ATK and DEF become zero. Its ATK and DEF will remain zero for the rest of the time it is on the field (even if "Skill Drain" leaves play later). See the rulings on "UFOroid Fighter".

Eon Chao
18th November 2005, 1:57 PM
they've always said not legal in the bottom left hand corner. Its just the last set (the ones from the shonen jump subscription, ani-manga and the X-Box game) were printed for a distrbution in the US so had it printedi n English. The original set were preorder bonuses with a Gameboy game and were in completely Japanese. The next printing was with the first worldwide edition and in the Japanese version it contained and Obelisk, Osiris and Ra card printed in English because they appear that way in the original manga/anime. the not legal bit was left in Japanese as they weren't for direct distribution outside of Japan. The reason they aren't legal cards for play is because they're abilities are very vague in the original manga and anime as the cards don't say themselves what they do and all the little kids would add the anime effects to them. So why print these cards and none of the other legendary cards? well Tiamas, Critas and Helmos only appear in anime filler whereas the Gods are to do with unlocking the secret of the Pharohs memories. THe legendary Demon's from GX had set abilities so were printed as 3 level 10 monsters in the upcoming Shadow of Infinity set and the Devil Gods from Yu-Gi-Oh Manga...well Dreadroot Avatar was printed but the other didn't have a set ability so didn't work.

~RaikouRider243~
18th November 2005, 2:09 PM
One effect that was never clear was the ability to use Spell/Trap/Effect cards against gods. I like the way NTR resolves this issue and gives the gods expert rule effects that make them playable without being uber. Most decks shouldn't have to worry about god cards because by the time they summon one, you should have Bottomless Trap Hole waiting.

Haruka's Swimsuit
18th November 2005, 10:36 PM
they've always said not legal in the bottom left hand corner.

True and false. The first two sets specifically state (in the bottom lefthand corner) that they are not tournament legal. It wasn't until they were released for the English market that the writing was changed to say they couldn't be used at all.

~RaikouRider243~
19th November 2005, 3:17 AM
...Did any of those rulings make sense?

~-=Mewtwo=-~
20th November 2005, 7:45 PM
What about the (I guess) movie onoly effect of... If Pyramid of Light exists on the field this card is removed from play...

Haruka's Swimsuit
20th November 2005, 9:20 PM
What about the (I guess) movie onoly effect of... If Pyramid of Light exists on the field this card is removed from play...

Pyramid of Light's movie effect was that it removes all Kami (God, though the two English versions change the gods' type to "Divine," yet they leave the kanji "Kami" alone) main type monsters on the field from play. And of course it's a movie only effect; 4Krap's little movie has about as much impact on the Yugioh DM series as all those lame Z filler movies (well, except for Return My Gohan- seeing as the animators decided to make a filler arc extending it).