PDA

View Full Version : What NOT to do in a fic...

FlamingRuby
22nd November 2005, 6:32 PM
What turns you off when you read a fic?

First off, I don't like it when there's barely any description. How am I supposed to know what a character or place looks like without the author describing it?

Second of all, I don't like it when someone copies the dialogue and action right from the games themselves. If a story just looks like that, I can just play with my GBA and get a more enjoyable story

Meep
22nd November 2005, 11:22 PM
I don't like bad spelling. I can understand every so often, making a spelling mistake, but more than ten in a chapter and it gets painful to read. I can also understand some strange grammar (I'm not that good with grammar either XD), but if I can't understand it, I'm out.

I also don't like fanfics (or any stories, for that matter) that introduce something once and never explain what the object is again. I can't remember that the Super Soothe Bell is large and blue with yellow zig-zag designs if you only mention the object (other than the name) only once. How am I supposed to remember that Charlie is a Zigzagoon throughout an entire fic? But if you mention the Super Soothe Bell's color and Charlie's species at appropreate (sp) times, then I can remember. You might not think this happens very often, but people do this a lot in fanfics.

Psychic
23rd November 2005, 1:24 AM
Oh, I made a thread like this ages ago. Then it died, and I think we now have another just like it floating around.

Anyways, FR, the title of this topic is rather misleading, I thought this thread was advise writers should give each other about 'What NOT to do in a fic'. Maybe that's what the thread should be about, hmm?

Anyways, what I can't stand: