Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Thread: WiFi FAQ

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    8,543

    Default WiFi FAQ

    Do you even need a Wi-Fi Router?
    Before you spend $50 on a Wi-Fi router, there is something to consider: do you even need one? If your entire network is running on wires, and it works fine, then you don't need a Wi-Fi router. If all your computers though are in one spot, and you really wish to migrate, you may consider Wi-Fi. But remember, if you buy a Wi-Fi router, you better milk it's money's worth. Buying a $50 for a router to accompany your DS is like buying a $50 accessory for it. Also if there's only like one computer that will use the Wi-Fi access, it's not worth it either. For video game consoles, notably Nintendo's, you're better off buying the USB Wi-Fi adapter or just hooking it up to your network via wire.

    Also note that if you plan on upgrading to Wi-Fi, remember that ALL DESKTOPS NEED AN UPGRADE AS WELL. Most desktops don't come with integrated Wi-Fi receivers, and receivers are just about as expensive as the routers themselves.

    What do I need to get online?
    1. A compatible Wi-Fi router (or access point adapter).
    2. Broadband internet (basically DSL or cable)
    3. Windows XP with Service Pack 2, Windows Vista, or Mac OS X in order to use Wi-Fi without third party software.

    How can I even access Wi-Fi?
    There are two things to understand. With Wi-Fi there are two kinds of equipment, a receiver, and a access point. An access point is where you connect your Wi-Fi enabled equipment to, which those are called receivers. Sometimes equipment can be both receivers and access points, under what is called ad-hoc network (this is how the PSP and DS communicate with each other). When you're shopping for Wi-Fi equipment, make sure you're getting an access point creator (which is a router) or something that can create an ad-hoc network. However, the trouble with ad-hoc networking is that you may have to be in close proximity.

    How to access Nintendo Wi-Fi or some other network
    For every Wi-Fi enabled system, you can use an approved Wi-Fi enabled router. Most modern models will do, namely from Netgear or Linksys. Those that don't have built-in Wi-Fi will either have a first party attachment (such as for the Xbox 360), or a third party attachment (for older consoles). Nintendo specifically has a USB adapter that acts like an access point for just the Wii and DS.

    Remember to follow all instructions when installing equipment. Also all systems of the current generation use both 802.11b and 802.11g.

    Using Wi-Fi access points in "free" access places.
    The only place with true "free" Wi-Fi access is any public place, that is if it's government owned. However, some of the government owned places also have requirements. For example: to use it when in the library, you might have to have a card. To use the wi-fi at a school, you must be enrolled in it.

    Using Wi-Fi at a commercial establishment like StarBucks or McDonald's is only allowed when you've purchased something. Depending on the establishment, you'll get away half the time, but you can be pressed charges on the account of resource theft, which is pretty much the same as any sort of theft.

    Maximum Range of Wi-Fi
    The maximum range of Wi-Fi is typically 250 feet in an open space. The optimal range is 100 feet in an open space. When you're looking at a closed space like your home, those figures drop to about 125 feet maximum and 50 feet optimal.

    Maximum range means how much you can get one bar. Optimal is typically around three bars. You need to be within 20 feet of the access point to have full bars.

    Settings to keep things simple.
    This is from my NETGEAR router, so settings may vary.

    BASIC:
    Does your Internet Service Provider (ISP) require a login? Should be set to "No" unless you really need to log in. I believe by setting this to "Yes" and filling out the required information will allow your router to automatically log on to the internet. If you don't set this up, there's a good chance your DS will not connect.
    Account and Domain name: Only applicable if you connect to a server based network (that is, you work in the professional setting). So leave it alone
    Internet IP address: Set it to "Automatically Obtain IP Address", or in the case with NETGEAR, "Get Dynamically from ISP"
    Domain Server Name (DSN) Address: Set it to Automatically obtain, or "Get automatically from ISP"
    Router MAC address: Set this to Default or Get Automatically.

    Wireless
    SSID: This is the name of your network. By default it's usually the router's model name (so change it to something you'll know).
    Region: This is locked for me. Otherwise, set it to the appropriate region you live in.
    Channel: Leave this alone. If you are noticing connection conflicts (such as another router is within your area), changing this may help.
    Mode: Leave this on Auto.
    Security Options: After a little investigation, I realized that WEP is weaker than WPA. Your best bet is to use WPA+WPA2. Either one works though. However considering the DS asks for a WEP key, you might have to set this to WEP.
    Passphrase (WEP): For WEP you need to set two things. First is the strength. For maximum strength, use 128-bit encryption on an automatic type. Second is the passprhase. Just type up something you can remember. This acts as a primary password which generates a set of keys. The next thing you have to do set which key you want to use. The key is what's you need to write down.
    Passphrase (WPA): WPA is easier, you just enter a passphrase you can remember.

    When you set up your DS for the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection, make sure all the options in it matches what you set in the router.
    Finding your WPA or WEP key
    Some notes:
    1. I'm going to assume that either you're the network manager, or nobody gives a penny about who manages the network.
    2. If there is a network manager and you're not it, then ask that person first.

    So how to find your WPA or WEP key:
    If you are using a recent Netgear Model, going www.routerlogin.com will get you into the firmware, otherwise use this:

    1. Go to Start -> Control Panel -> Internet and Network Connections -> Network Connections.
    2. Double click on the "Wireless Network Connection".
    3. Click on the "Support Tab", and note what your Default Gateway address is (it should start with 192.168.1)
    4. Type the address up into an internet browser.
    5. On the login prompt, use username admin and password password. This is the default setting. If this was changed at any point, ask your network manager for login information.
    6. Find your router's wireless settings. The WPA or WEP key should be in there. If not, look for wireless security options.
    7. If there are multiple keys, use the one that's selected.
    My TSV is 1021

    If you have a matching egg, I will gladly hatch it for you. Please send me a PM with your FC, IGN, timezone/availability, and if you want a nickname.

    I am looking for people to hatch the following eggs for me:

    2895, 2653, 3711, 1622, 3548, 3208, 0848, 2682, 3404, 2844, 0801

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a snowglobe.
    Posts
    101

    Default

    How does WI-FI connect to the computer (don't have it yet but for the future...)
    Click Jirachi to join the amazing Ever Grande City forums! You won't regret joining it!
    I've claimed this Pokemon.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    What kind of WiFi thing are you using? If you are using the Nintendo WiFi USB router, plug it in your USB port and the disc that comes with it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    In a cardboard box
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Right, I have WiFi, but it won't work on my DS, I check the router thing and it was acessable. Do you know why?
    Signature coming soon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    If you are using it for D/P/Pt then you must set it up at the game menu. (Where New Game/Continue and Option is located)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    When I test the connection on my DS, it's fine but sometimes the connection on wi-fi is all over the place. I got loads of various error codes and even when I do get on or try to interact, I get disconnected, so it's just one big circle.

    Do I need a WEP key, because I haven't got on registed on my ds. I have the rest of them though, WEP is just blank?

    The most common errors I get are, but not limited too: 53100, 81010 and 61010. I don't have a wifi usb, I just have a broadband connection and router. I guess mine just has a mind of it's own, trading normally is hard but GTS seems to be fine with me.
    Last edited by ChloboShoka; 22nd March 2009 at 2:04 PM.


    ☆ Maya Fey: Ace Pokemon Trainer
    Carry On, BlisseyThe Other King☆
    Advancers Tumblr
    Banner by Sworn Metalhead at Dćdric Design ✠

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69

    Default

    I just got wifi on Friday, and I've been trying to have battles with my friends ever since I got it. I set up a network, the DS connected successfully, and I thought I was good to go. It seems like GTS is working fine, but when I go to the Wifi Club in the basements of Pokemon Centers, I connect for about two minutes. After that it always says, "Connection error. You have been disconnected from Ninentendo Wifi Connection."
    Then it has error code 84020. This only happens in the Wifi Club, what should I do?
    [IMG]http://i31.*******.com/30vdd2o.gif[/IMG]
    Credit to Umbreon13x for my amazing custom sig

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cherry Point, NC
    Posts
    1,103

    Default

    I have an interesting problem to say the least.

    Last year I upgraded my internet from a 56k to a broadband internet connection. Well I got a Wii and wanted to hook it up as well. So I made a list of everything I needed and went shopping. I got a wireless router and a couple adapters. I hooked everything up and the network worked great. Both my computers could get online, my Wii and Ds were online, even when my brother came over with his laptop, the network worked great.

    Then something happened. Needless to say if i knew, I'd say it. When my primary computer is hooked up to the internet without the router, the internet works great on the primary computer. But now when I hook up the router, the internet works for everything around the house except the computer its attached to.

    It just bugs me that I have a network everywhere in my house except for the primary computer.
    I'm typically inactive between Spring and Fall. I'll be on as often as time allows.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Drinking v8...NO
    Posts
    81

    Default

    I keep getting Error code:52130 on my wii wifi
    I have been trying to get this to work for months now
    I am pretty sure my wpa key is correct
    And when I searched the error code on google it told me I should change the signal on my router to either 1 or 11
    When I tried doing that It just changed it right back!
    Some1 please help.

    Wow... Zelda chose getting BOPPED by samus over just drinking that v8...lulz
    Please call me Borio on the forums or type in Zyborggian.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands GMT+1.
    Posts
    5,985

    Default

    i have a uestion,
    my wi-fi USB connector doesn't work on my computer and i do not have
    a accesable router that i want to risk as an unprotected spot but i need a accespoint to switch online at, i do have a Wii which is connected to the internet throughout a USB lan connector so i was wondering if there is a possibility to connect my DS to the Wii.

    i am new with the Wii so i don't know the ins & outs of it yet.

  11. #11

    Default

    The Wii cannot be used with the DS for anything besides connectivity in games designed to utilize it. The answer is a concrete no.



    -----
    Never underestimate the power of stupidity, of the one and of the many.
    Words to|live by

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    461

    Default

    Whenever I try to install the Wifi USB connector on my computer an error pops up saying "Please connect the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB connector to your computers USB port."
    Even though it is already there. Can anyone tell me what's wrong and how to fix it?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In my own world
    Posts
    5,496

    Default

    Okay I need help with my wifi: Here's the story

    A couple of days ago an OP (From the chat) told me of a Windows Vista verison of the Wifi which I can download so I did and everything worked out fine. I was able to battle and trade again like normal.

    Then today (Didn't play it a bit after that) when I was about to get a Shaymin the wifi stops working. I went to connect and at first the green icon that shows the connection shows up for a few moments like it's about to work but suddenly goes back to red so I get a message that says Unable to connect to the Wifi.

    So I went to test the connectivity in the Wifi settings and the same thing happens with that icon. And this time I got this code error 52103.

    What is going on?
    Claims Amber Benson and Ali Larter as Bishie.


    Credits go to the original creators of Cynthia's and Flannery's artwork.
    United we stand but seperated we fall

    And so the fifth generation begins...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands GMT+1.
    Posts
    5,985

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BCVM22 View Post
    The Wii cannot be used with the DS for anything besides connectivity in games designed to utilize it. The answer is a concrete no.
    crap, i think my hopes will rest on the upcoming DSi then, if that one will have more capabilities with online i might be able to trade & battle on the site again.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Australia, or where Glalie is
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Is it possible to get a virus on your computer from another wifi user?



    |My Eggs|
    Spriters Resource for sprites.


  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    6,237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuklaeAquos View Post
    Is it possible to get a virus on your computer from another wifi user?
    Yes, but Not many Viruses will be send via a Local Wifi network as the impact rate is very low.

    Since you're usually connected to the net when in a Wifi network, you'll often find Viruses via the net. (I've been done several times that way, But my Anti-Virus Scanner (which us almost always kept up to date) picks them up.)
    Writing LJ Twitter Raptr


    MikeSharpeWriter.com -Project Elfish Jarate

    3DS - 3007 - 8991 - 4413 (VM/PM me to add you)

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    PokeplaceTown
    Posts
    327

    Default

    After going on the Wi-Fi settings on my DS, the connection works for a moment but then goes off. I don't know what to do...
    Ask me about Pokeplace Town

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    ok i have been playing diamond online and now my ds will not connect to my internet what could the problem be
    Diamond-4854 4990 3033


    Looking For-shiny dratini,shiny gible,shiny charmander,shiny treeko

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    0

    Unhappy

    Hi.

    Im trying to get my DS online to trade pokemon over the net.
    However, my router has a WPA key which is non-compatible with the DS.
    My dad is refusing to take it off or change it.
    Is there any other way to get online without the USB thingie for your PC?
    Also if you do use the USB dongle i take it my PC has to be on for it to work?
    and i already have a dongle just not a DS WIFI specific one, will it work?

    Thanks,
    Banick

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    6,237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Banick View Post
    Hi.

    Im trying to get my DS online to trade pokemon over the net.
    However, my router has a WPA key which is non-compatible with the DS.
    My dad is refusing to take it off or change it.
    Is there any other way to get online without the USB thingie for your PC?
    Also if you do use the USB dongle i take it my PC has to be on for it to work?
    and i already have a dongle just not a DS WIFI specific one, will it work?

    Thanks,
    Banick
    Getting online, there are several ways. There is always wired internet connection, this requires a commonly used cable in your PC.

    I've used internet hardware with USB sockets, one ethernet port, and Many ethernet ports. Almost every Pc has both at least one USB socket and one ethernet port. Laptops usually have a Modem.

    Every "net-dongle" needs power from the PC/laptop that is on. You can't use the dongle with out it on.

    It depends on the USB dongle, but you can't connect to both the net and the DS with the same dongle. You can Bridge the Wired connection and dongle, if it works.

    This can be tricky to do. I really suggest Looking up Network Bridge for your computer operating system. I haven't got enough info to give you a step by step guide.

    Me? I'd plug in my old internet router in my net box.
    Writing LJ Twitter Raptr


    MikeSharpeWriter.com -Project Elfish Jarate

    3DS - 3007 - 8991 - 4413 (VM/PM me to add you)

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5

    Default

    i am having trouble with my wi-fi.... everything works fine, execpt the wi-fi plaza. it just says communication error every time i try to connect, even though the GTS and everything else is working. anyone know why? :/
    Pokemon White FC --> 0347 3798 5772

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    903

    Default

    My USB works, but when I test the connection, it has 3 green marks which is supposed to be good then it goes red and I can't connect.
    RPGer Profile
    ~~~~
    [9:09 PM] delilah: achievement unlocked: use the phrase "drop it like it's hot" in my final biology project

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Problem Solved.
    Thank You.
    Last edited by Pokemon Planet; 8th August 2009 at 4:19 AM.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,798

    Default

    I'm having trouble with my Wi-Fi. I can get onto it easily without problems, but if I'm seeking opponents to battle or talk too, sometimes nothing shows up and I'm alone. This happens in the Colosseum and Plaza. It also happens on Wii too. How should I improve the connection?

    breathe it in, i'm gonna shine. it's my moment, i'm going to fly.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Titan500 View Post
    My USB works, but when I test the connection, it has 3 green marks which is supposed to be good then it goes red and I can't connect.
    Same problem here, only using a wireless router instead of the USB. I battled this morning before it happened on Wi-Fi. There's no disturbances between my DS and the router, I even stood right next to it.

    Edit: It repaired itself, I don't know how.
    Last edited by Dave.; 22nd August 2009 at 10:23 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •