Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Mac Airport and DS connection help.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default Mac Airport and DS connection help.

    Hey, I've been trying to solve this for some time now:
    My Wii connects to the net using my macbook's airport card with no issues.
    My DS however, has issues.

    A good example of what method I'm using would be:

        Spoiler:- Guide:

    from http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...51119155606277

    However, my dig output reads as follows:
    ";; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached"

    Another guide suggests using the Mac's en1 ip address as the primary and secondary dns addresses too, as shown in network settings.

    Using these and similar methods, still results in error code 52101.

    It is a problem others have had, however I have not as yet found a suitable solution.

    I have tried extending the wep key to 26 digits and using channel 11.

    I have tried using manual airport configurations.

    I have heard there might be a way to obtain the missing dig output information, but have not figured out how, yet.
    I would like to avoid calling my ISP for the DNS info, since the account is under the landlord's name, and they stay out of contact from any tenants.

    I have tried using some public DNS addresses to no effect. Not sure if my attempts were fool proof in this instance, however.

    Anyway, any help would be appreciated, with connecting my dslite to my macbook airport card, finding out my ISP's DNS info or any help at all.

    Thanks.
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    2,637

    Default

    Give me your ifconfig en1 and dig printouts, please.

    Make the Primary and Secondary DNS the same as the Gateway. Also, for the IP, try adding 10 to the last number in the IP that you are using as the Gateway (if your printout gave you 10.0.2.1, use 10.0.2.11 as the IP Address).
    Jealous much?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    "en1: flags=8823<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 10.0.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.2.255
    ether 00:23:6c:7d:91:84
    media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect
    "

    thanks for the reply, +10 to the IP as per the nintendo wifi error code page suggests doesn't seem to work.

    From everything I've read elsewhere, that says +1 or more, the +10 exact might be for PCs using the same router as the DS instead of airport..

    not sure though.
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    2,637

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Muzero View Post
    "en1: flags=8823<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 10.0.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.2.255
    ether 00:23:6c:7d:91:84
    media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect
    "

    thanks for the reply, +10 to the IP as per the nintendo wifi error code page suggests doesn't seem to work.

    From everything I've read elsewhere, that says +1 or more, the +10 exact might be for PCs using the same router as the DS instead of airport..

    not sure though.
    Try 10.0.2.15 as the IP Address. 10.0.2.1 as the Gateway and both DNS.
    Jealous much?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Dig info, edit button not working..
    "
    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.3-P1 <<>>
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

    "

    Pretty sure the dig timeout is to do with the router the entire units ethernet system is hooked up to.

    Since I'm connecting the DS to my own Airport I'm hoping for a work around.
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Tried those settings, also with subnetmask as 255.255.255.0 and as 255.0.0.0

    (network settings tells me my subnetmask is the latter, all guides I've found use the former.. not sure if it matters)

    same error code 52102


    Have to step out for a while, will check back asap.
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    2,637

    Default

    Hmm, 52102 means that it sees the server, but can't make a connection, right?

    What Airport card do you have? Are you trying to password protect the connection?
    If so, "Many routers offer multiple WEP Key entries (usually numbered 1 through 4) within the router settings. The Nintendo DS will only recognize the WEP entered in the first (#1) box of your router settings.

    Some routers allow you to enter a Passphrase. This is then converted to a WEP Key number. When you are entering a WEP Key into the Nintendo DS, it is the actual WEP Key that is needed. The Passphrase will not work."


    Clear everything out and start from scratch. Write down each step as you do it (despite the fact that you have pretyped instructions) on the slight chance you might be overlooking a simple step.
    Jealous much?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    ifconfig en1
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULT ICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 10.0.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.2.255
    inet6 fe80::223:6cff:fe7d:9184%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
    inet 169.254.236.41 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 169.254.255.255
    ether 00:23:6c:7d:91:84
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect


    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.3-P1 <<>>
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


    System Preferences : Network reads as

    ethernet connected
    using dhcp
    ip 10.1.1.6
    subnet 255.0.0.0
    router 10.1.1.1
    dns 10.1.1.1

    Sharing via airport turned on, channel automatic, no wep key (this attempt)

    net is connected, airport is working.

    using the wifi config in the pokemon pearl menu

    search for wifi, airport connection found. unlocked
    testing connection..... 52001 (different error because not a manual setting I think)

    "unable to obtain ip address check DHCP"

    Manual settings in ds,

    ssid correct
    wep none

    ip 10.0.2.11
    subent mask 255.0.0.0
    gateway 10.0.2.1
    dns 10.0.2.1
    2nd dns 10.0.2.1

    testing connection error 52101

    unable to connect to nintendo wifi connection, confirm connection settings and access point settings.

    testing again using DS ip 10.0.2.4

    same error

    testing with ds ip 10.0.2.15

    same error

    (each time the connection is found but tests for 40 seconds and gives up)

    testing 10.0.2.11, subnet 255.255.255.0

    (even longer test than above) error 52101

    testing 10.0.2.4 subnet 255.255.255.0

    same error

    testing 10.0.2.15 subnet 255.255.255.0

    same error

    booted up the wii to test the airport connection..

    (Wii)
    internet settings, wireless, search access
    found, saved, testing...

    error (uhoh..had this working before...) 52032

    ill try the ds one more time before using the old settings for the wii to see if its still working.. only difference would be the wep key I think..

    ip 10.0.2.8
    subnet 255.255.255.0
    gateway 10.0.2.1
    dns same as gateway
    dns same as gateway

    testing error 52101

    .. restoring airport wep key and trying wii again...

    5 digit wep key testing... auto ip ect.
    error 52032, refers to the number of digits used in the wep key..
    I'm going to play around with the settings and try and find more info on a suitable password for both systems...

    I was under the impression (also was a mac tech guy in a store I passed today) that if no wep key was set it would not impede connections.. seems it might though.

    The wii and a psp are what I have successfully connected to my macbooks airport in the past, so I'll try to get the wii working again for now.

    will update asap, cheers..
    ><
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    psp wont connect either...

    gonna get in contact with the landlord's tech guy.. will check back tomorrow..
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    ok! so I called apple tech support and they just got me to

    turn macbook off, unplug power and take out battery

    turn on, make a new network location and connect to ethernet

    set up airport connection on channel 8

    .

    got everything to work, without a wep key.

    now I'm at a stage where I can change my wep key on the mac and wii and have a connection, but so far have only managed to connect the ds without any wep key.

    currently researching a suitable number of digits..

    Thanks for your help RedStar, much appreciated.
    fc:3737-7199-6941 Mu'Ting...
    Time Zone : +10 GMT
    fcx2:4167-0516-4097 MUZERO

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    2,637

    Default

    No problem!

    Remember, if you have your WEP set with a passphrase, that passphrase won't work on the DS. You actually have to have the numerical code.

    Also, at least you got it working!!!
    Jealous much?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •