Thread: Working a Nuzlocke Challenge into a Fanfiction

Default Working a Nuzlocke Challenge into a Fanfiction

I'm a huge fan of the Nuzlocke/Pokemon: Hard Mode comics, and think that it's a very cool concept to apply to a game which is pretty easy from my point of view (19, 2nd term in a German University ...) I also find it interesting reading through the fan-comics that have been posted on the site as well. Some of them have VERY good plot explanations that vary greatly from the original comic, and some of the art has even been surprisingly good.

I've been toying around doing something similar, but I can't draw. I'm a writer, despite having long periods of inactivity because of the "real world" and having to do things to stay alive within it. So I've toyed around making a Nuzlocke-style fan fiction. It would kind of be a trainer journey fic, though the concept of losing a pokemon forever would be a huge plot device, and the story might even end suddenly if I wipe with my team, which has happened to me in-game several times.

My question is really how to approach a trainer-style fic without slipping into the common errors that those fics tend to attract.
    --I don't have regular internet access, so don't be surprised if I suddenly don't show up for days at a time.--

I write to stay alive. What have you done lately?

Fizzy Bubbles Profile

Just writing about your exploits on a game and following what happens there tends not to make for very interesting or well-structured fanfiction, even if you amp up the drama factor by having deaths. Good stories generally have a coherent plot structure where things are built up and come to a climax in a consciously crafted way: later happenings are foreshadowed, characters are given developmental arcs, and so on.