Thread: i need help with my pokemon team (no legendaries)

Default i need help with my pokemon team (no legendaries)

hi, i'm pretty new to Pokemon (I haven't played a Pokemon game since Blue, which was around 10 years ago), and I recently bought Pokemon Sapphire.
    i really need some help with my team, i've looked at bios of most of the pokemon through Chuggaconroy videos, and all i have so far is a Torchic and a Ralts. i've been thinking about getting a Cacturne and a Swablu. Are there any other Pokemon you can recommend?

I recommend you to catch a Tailow - they are common early in the game and they are quite versatile, they evolve into Swellow, which is a very fast flying type and learns some decent moves.

Also, if you are able to trade, I suggest you get an Abra. Abras are good and appear early in the game, the cave in Dewford specifically. It isn't easy to train but it soon evolves into Kadabra, which then evolves into Alakazam when traded. Alakazam is very fast and has brilliant special attack stats. It also has a decent movepool. Again, you need to trade it so it'll evolve, but it is certainly the best non-legendary psychic pokemon.

It would also be worth catching a Magikarp. Now, Magikarps are very weak and has limited moves (by level 20 it only knows splash and tackle) however, when it reaches level 20 it evolves into Gyarados, a very powerful Water-flying type. It is certainly worth training Magikarp despite it being hard to train, I suggest giving it the Exp share item.

Well whenever I start a game, I always look for the six best types that can dish out advantage damage (2x) to every single other type.