Page 2 of 27 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 658

Thread: Pokémon TCG Help Thread [Gameplay questions]

  1. #26
    Hot Charizard Guest

    Default

    i got a mewtwo card but it was a fire type, that's not right, but can i use for battling?
    and is dragonite being an electric pokemon is false or is it part of the new cards?
    cause i always thought it was colorless

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    5,563

    Default

    Dark Survivor lugia - I'm not really sure what you're asking, but if you question is can you play an evolution card down by itself without placing it on top of the corresponding Basic, the answer is no.

    Hot Charizard - These are from the fairly new Delta Species set, and are delta Pokemon. Delta Pokemon have different types than they should, and you can use them in your decks like any other cards.
    RULES

    Read. Learn.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jess
    Hey mods, guess what, theres a spam post in a thread in a forum. Im not gunna tell you where! You have ot look for it! Lol! And when you dont find that specific post in that specific thread wihtin 5 MINUTES... Im gunna post a thread to complain about your poor modding behavior =( *****es. HOW DARE YOU NOT UNDERSTAND ME!?!??! Now start searching.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    BlackFlame Valley
    Posts
    100

    Default

    um i stopped collecting a while ago but recently i picked up a few Dragon ex packs to catch up on old times.. anyway i got a Latios ex holo and a Salamece reverse holo.. they are cool but i have no real use for them, I was wondering how muuch i could sell them for? help please
    Wanna Earn the BlackFlameGymBadge Well then prepare for battle... friend code: 2165-4886-4326
    ..beat me and earn a BLACKFLAME GYM BADGE.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    5,563

    Default

    This thread is for gameplay questions, meaning questions about playing the TCG. I have just put up a "how much is my card worth" sticky where you can ask your question.
    RULES

    Read. Learn.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jess
    Hey mods, guess what, theres a spam post in a thread in a forum. Im not gunna tell you where! You have ot look for it! Lol! And when you dont find that specific post in that specific thread wihtin 5 MINUTES... Im gunna post a thread to complain about your poor modding behavior =( *****es. HOW DARE YOU NOT UNDERSTAND ME!?!??! Now start searching.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Manila, MM, Philippines.
    Posts
    3,414

    Default

    Meh, just need to clarify about Double Energy Cards. (Like, Holon's Electrode, Holon's Castform [I think...] and Holon's Magneton) Usually, it says, it provides every type of Energy, but 2 Energy at a time.

    So let's say you have a Lugia EX. It costs Water, Fire and Lightning, right (checks her Card-dex again)? You have a Water Energy card plus a Holon's Electrode for example, attached to it. Can you use that attack? X.x

    GPXPlus Profile | Electromaster | Alert; Obsessions
    Paired with the awesome Orion-Sama~

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Avegaille View Post
    Meh, just need to clarify about Double Energy Cards. (Like, Holon's Electrode, Holon's Castform [I think...] and Holon's Magneton) Usually, it says, it provides every type of Energy, but 2 Energy at a time.

    So let's say you have a Lugia EX. It costs Water, Fire and Lightning, right (checks her Card-dex again)? You have a Water Energy card plus a Holon's Electrode for example, attached to it. Can you use that attack? X.x
    Yup. And you'd need to discard both.

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    5,563

    Default

    To clarify, it means it provides two UNITS of Energy, but it is always all types, all the time. It would count as Lightning and Fire (as well as all other types), and since it's two units of Energy, discarding it as well as the Water will fufill all requirements for the attack.
    RULES

    Read. Learn.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jess
    Hey mods, guess what, theres a spam post in a thread in a forum. Im not gunna tell you where! You have ot look for it! Lol! And when you dont find that specific post in that specific thread wihtin 5 MINUTES... Im gunna post a thread to complain about your poor modding behavior =( *****es. HOW DARE YOU NOT UNDERSTAND ME!?!??! Now start searching.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    Question concerning my new deck and the DX-on Modified Format.

    Can my deck use a Rainbow Energy print from EX Ruby & Sapphire? (I also have a copy from EX Legend Maker in the deck.) And can it use Multi Energy from EX Sandstorm?

    EDIT: Another question. What's the difference between Modified Constructed and Modified Limited?
    Last edited by Cipher 2008; 22nd August 2006 at 11:05 AM.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mandaluyong, Philippines.
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cipher DSX View Post
    Question concerning my new deck and the DX-on Modified Format.

    Can my deck use a Rainbow Energy print from EX Ruby & Sapphire? (I also have a copy from EX Legend Maker in the deck.) And can it use Multi Energy from EX Sandstorm?

    EDIT: Another question. What's the difference between Modified Constructed and Modified Limited?
    Yes, you can, seeing the card has been reprinted. And yes, because Multi Energy has been reprinted also. (EX Emerald)

    Modified Constructed - A player brings his/her own deck consisting of 60 cards.

    Modified Limited - The organizer of the tournament provides the Cards. A good example is the Pre-Realease tournament. It only consists of 40 cards. The deck can contain more than 4 copies of the same card.

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    OK, thanks for your help. I'm guessing the Battle Frontier leagues are Contructed then.

    Thanks again!

  11. #36
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mandaluyong, Philippines.
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cipher DSX View Post
    OK, thanks for your help. I'm guessing the Battle Frontier leagues are Contructed then.

    Thanks again!

    Yes, they are indeed. Depending where you live, I believe they're allowing to use Type 1 Cards for the League, but not in Tournaments.

    Question time: Do Poke-Bodies also count as Poke-Power if you were to play with Type 1 decks? Let's have that Muk (Type 1, forgot the set) for example. It specifically reads "Poke-Powers". A lot of people (especially beginners) would misinterpret this if they had cards/started playing from the EX Series.

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    As far as I'm aware, Poké-Bodies are always Poké-Bodies and never Poké-Powers, but it depends what you mean by Type 1. I've been playing for six years but I'm a n00b at the moment when it comes to leagues and tourneys.

  13. #38
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mandaluyong, Philippines.
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cipher DSX View Post
    As far as I'm aware, Poké-Bodies are always Poké-Bodies and never Poké-Powers, but it depends what you mean by Type 1. I've been playing for six years but I'm a n00b at the moment when it comes to leagues and tourneys.
    Ah, I know the answer to this, but I just want to clarify it with other people who are more of an expert in TCGs. And when I say Type 1, I am refering to Sets which aren't legal to play anymore on the Modified Format. Like the Base Set and Fossil Set.

    So, yes, that's the problem there.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Poke-bodies NEVER count as Poke-powers, and Poke-powers never count as Poke-bodies. "Pokemon Powers", which appear on 1st and 2nd gen cards, count as both Poke-powers and Poke-bodies. (If a card has an effect that affects Pokemon powers, then it would affect both poke-powers and Poke-bodies.) Cards with effects that affect either Poke-powers or Poke-bodies do not affect Pokemon Powers unless they specifically say they affect both, or when used in conjunction with card that affect the other one (e.g. Having a Medicham ex active and a Space Center in play at the same time would stop all Basic Pokemon's Pokemon Powers, and having a Medicham ex active, Latias HP11, and Latios HP12 at the same time would stop all Evolved Pokemon's Pokemon Powers. Having a Feraligatr ex active would stop all Pokemon Powers.)

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Scramble Energy

    can you use Scramble Energy to provide an water Energy attack coast.

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    Only if you have more Prize cards than your opponent does.

    "Scramble Energy can be attached only to an Evolved Pokemon (excluding Pokemon-ex). Scramble Energy provides 1 Colorless Energy. While in play, if you have more Prize cards left than your opponent, Scramble Energy provides every type of Energy but provides only 3 in any combination at a time. If the Pokemon Scramble Energy is attached to isn't an Evolved Pokemon (or evolves into Pokemon-ex), discard Scramble Energy."

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ealing, London, UK
    Posts
    412

    Default

    I was unsure whether this question should go here, but I figured it was best to do that than to start a new thread.

    Why was Neo Genesis Sneasel banned?

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Parma, OH
    Posts
    22

    Default

    This may b a dumb question, but I was woundering, can I play the Trainer/supporter card Wally's Training on my first turnż

    It says Search ur deck for a card that evolves from ur active Pokčmon (choose 1 if there r 2) & put it on ur active Pokčmon. (This counts as evolving that Pokčmon.) Shuffle ur deck afterwards.

    I know ur not allowed to evolve on the first turn. I'm guessing it's b/c ur just putting ur basc Pokčmon down for the 1st turn. So I'm guessing it is a yes, but I'm just makin sure.
    The Trainer and Master of the

    Darkness Dog Pokčmon

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Yes unless you went first, since you can't use supporters first turn

    EDIT:It's dark, uses dark, no weakness, resistance, no retreat, sick attack, and a basic with 60 hp.
    Last edited by NateDawg161992; 1st September 2006 at 2:51 AM.
    I claimed Zangetsu from Bleach as moi bishie

    Looking for a fanfic about Chase and Larvitar from a few years back, it would mean alot to me if you could tell me the exact title or author (or even better a link to it). Thanks


  20. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    So in other words completely overpowered and just freakishly powerful. Good card.

    And I thought today's cards were overpowered...

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ealing, London, UK
    Posts
    412

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NateDawg161992 View Post
    EDIT:It's dark, uses dark, no weakness, resistance, no retreat, sick attack, and a basic with 60 hp.
    Thanks, at first glance I just couldn't understand why it was banned.

    edit: Just though I'd point out, that in the last post section of this thread, my post doesn't actually appear as the last one (which it currently is) O_o
    Last edited by Sim; 16th September 2006 at 1:39 PM.

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    how do you play the tcg could someone who is good at it teach me how to play over pm

  23. #48

    Default

    I know that in Tournaments, the old old cards before EX are not legal to play with. Are the "old" EX card sets still legal? ie: Ruby and Sapphire set

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Anything before EX Deoxys isn't allowed.

  25. #50

    Default

    I have been collecting Pokemon Cards for, oh, probably eight years, and in those eight years, I have never actually played a single game with the things. Now, of course, I am looking to play the game, at least a little, but there are still some rules I'm not sure of. If it's all right, I'd like to ask some, er, basic questions about playing the game. It shouldn't be anything too difficult.

    Exactly how many cards are permitted in one deck? How many of each?

    Can you mix sets? In other words, if I were to play a game against someone, could I use cards from say, Jungle and Fossil, while they use cards from Base and Neo Genesis (just random examples)?

    Alternatively, can I mix-and-match sets when it comes to evolving Pokemon? Like, could I evolve Blaine's Charmander (Gym Leaders series) to a Dark Charmeleon (Team Rocket series) and then to a Charizard (Base set)? Or must evolution be kept within the set?

    Where can I find things like damage counters and other objects like that required for playing the game?

    Lastly, does anyone know of a comprehensive guide out there that could answer some of my more basic questions?

    Thank you all very kindly.

Page 2 of 27 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •