Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Belkin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Torchwood Tower
    Posts
    2,147

    Default Belkin

    Right, today me and my dad spent about 2 hours buying a wireless router and stuff so our house could be wireless. Considering I wanted to play Mario Kart DS online at christmas, I checked online to see if the router we had chosen was correct and would work for the DS. At this time (2 days ago) the NintendoWiFi webpage for the UK wasn't up so I just checked the US version seeing if it would work. Belkin, the make of router we now have) was listed with many different types and when I compaired the "Belkin Code" to the ours, it was relativly the same. With this in mind, I just thought that Belkin would work for my DS and went ahead with buying one.

    Now, I checked only moments ago on the NintendoWiFi UK website and Belkin isn't listed! Does anyone know why as there are only a few routers listed for the UK so I'm hoping they just haven't got round to listing them all. If it turns out my router doesn't work, I am going to get sssssoooooo mad I swear I'll just rip my DS apart!

    If anyone has any information about this, pppppppllllllllllleeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaasssssssseeeeeee ee say so. I've posted in a few other threads and no one is responding. I need to know as it might not be too late to take the router back and exchange it for another.

    EDIT: The model number for the router is F5D90117UK
    Last edited by Bulk; 4th December 2005 at 6:19 PM.
    Er, twig... yum...

  2. #2
    Uchiha Obito Guest

    Default

    hey welcome back Ultimate bulk!! Long time no see!!! Well any ways have you tried going online with your DS yet? If you have not try doing it. I think it is not listed in the Uk because the reason that wi-fi will come to Uk last, so it has not been established very good yet. So i am thinking you should try it out and see and if it does not work go and return it.
    BTW, im Blazikenlord!(i changed my name)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas.
    Posts
    3,787

    Default

    Don't go and break your DS just because your angry - or else your a total idiot.

    I say try the Router and if it doesnt work take it back and get a different router - simple as that..

    ~Scott


    3DS: 1590 4683 0583, Wii:1455 7087 4777 5760, PSN: MidnightScott

    I love the Nintendo 3DS, games owned: 17
    Japanese Flare Red 3DS GET! 1891 1352 3198

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Torchwood Tower
    Posts
    2,147

    Default

    Yeah, well maybe I got a little carried away with what I was saying...

    (Oh rite, wondered who you were Blzikenlord! I'm sorta back, not going near the Fan Art Section though)

    I would check it but I haven't got an online game and I'm getting MKDS for christmas. Ah well, fingers crossed.
    Er, twig... yum...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Chances are good that your router will work for the DS. Their list is by no means complete since there are TONS of routers out there for them to test. If you can't get it to work, make sure to check on Nintendo's WiFi forums to check for possible solutions before you just give up. My router didn't work at first for my DS, but then my brother discovered we had a '4x speed' setting turned on which is incompatible with the DS. Good luck!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Torchwood Tower
    Posts
    2,147

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zart Morder
    Chances are good that your router will work for the DS. Their list is by no means complete since there are TONS of routers out there for them to test. If you can't get it to work, make sure to check on Nintendo's WiFi forums to check for possible solutions before you just give up. My router didn't work at first for my DS, but then my brother discovered we had a '4x speed' setting turned on which is incompatible with the DS. Good luck!
    Thanks, I'll check when I try it out.

    Out of interest, why are there so many different routers? I surpose it must be something to do with the speed of internet but still, there can't be that many.
    Er, twig... yum...

  7. #7
    Uchiha Obito Guest

    Default

    well i suppose it is because some computers arent compatible with some models and that some are more expensive, and have more slots/buttons/appliances.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,667

    Default

    Im using a Belkin F5D7230-4 and it's fine, apparently the high speed version of it doesn't work with the DS, your router probably will work

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Torchwood Tower
    Posts
    2,147

    Default

    Ah, cheers, it aint the same type but I'm a bit less wiery. If it doesn't work I'll just walk over to my mates house, he has wireless and it works. cheers for the help dudes.
    Er, twig... yum...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •